Quick Links  


  You are here >   About Tax > The Seven Main Taxes

The Seven Main Taxes


The seven main taxes in Ireland are as follows:              

Income Tax, PRSI and Levies    

All working people pay income tax. Those who are self-employed
pay income tax under the self-assessment system. Employees pay
income tax through the PAYE (Pay As You Earn) system.
PRSI stands for pay-related social insurance and is the system
by which individuals contribute to social insurance.

Click for details.

Corporation Tax 

This is the tax paid on profits by companies.

Click for details.


Capital Gains Tax 

CGT is the tax paid by people when they sell a
capital asset, e.g. a business or a rental property.

Click for details.

Capital Acquisitions Tax 

CAT is the tax paid by people who receive wealth
in the form of gifts or inheritances.

Click for details.

Stamp Duty 

This is a duty paid in relation to the “stamping”
of certain legal documents, e.g. contracts of sale.

Click for details.

Value-Added Tax

VAT is the tax levied on the value added to
goods and services.

Click for details.

Customs & Excise

Customs is levied on goods imported from non-EU
Member States, and excise is a duty levied on certain goods.

Click for details.